Humanity+ Conference 2010 Caltech

I gave a presentation yesterday at the H+ conference at Caltech. The session in which I spoke was the ‘Redefining Artificial Intelligence’ session. I’ll try to get the video of the talk up here as soon as possible along with slides.

Other talks in this session were given by Randal Koene, Geordie Rose, Alex Peake, Paul Rosenbloom, Adrian Stoica, Moran Cerf and Ben Goertzel.

My talk was entitled ‘Pavlov’s AI: What do superintelligences really want?’ I discussed the foundations of AGI, and what I believe to be a problem (or at least an interesting philosophical gold-seam) in the idea of building self-improving artificial intelligences. I’ll be writing a lot more on this topic in the future, hopefully in the form of essays, blogposts and papers. I think it is very important to assess what we are trying to do in the area of AI, what the overall objectives are, and looking at what we can build from an objective point of view is helpful in framing our progress.

The conference was livestreamed, which was great. I think my talk had around 500 viewers. Add to that the 200 or so in the lecture hall; 700 is a pretty big audience! Some of talks had over 1300 remote viewers. Livestreaming really is a great way to reach a much bigger audience than is possible with real-life events alone.

I didn’t get to see much of the Caltech campus, but the courtyard at the Beckman Institute where the conference was held was beautiful. I enjoyed the fact that coffee and lunch was served outside in the courtyard. It was very pleasant! Sitting around outside in L.A. in December was surprisingly similar to a British summer!

I got to talk to some great people. I enjoy transhumanism-focused conferences as the people you meet tend to have many diverse interests and multidisciplinary backgrounds.

I was very inspired to continue exploring and documenting my journey into the interesting world of AGI. One of the things I really love doing is looking into the fundamental science behind Singularity-focused technologies. I try to be impartial to this and give both an optimistic account of the promise of future technologies whilst maintaining a skeptical curiosity about whether such technologies are fundamentally possible, and what roadmaps might lead to their successful implementation. So stay tuned for more Skepto-advocate Singularity fun!

4 thoughts on “Humanity+ Conference 2010 Caltech

  1. Matt says:

    Thanks for the update. Look forward to hearing more. One can never have too much Skepto-advocate singularity fun, in my book.

  2. Dave Bacon says:

    The picture you have is of the “gene pool” so named because of the double helix running down it’s middle. I’ve been thrown in it a few times in my life (much better than many of the other ponds I was thrown in at Caltech 🙂 )

  3. TRUTH, and Understanding,

    and more POWER ~ ELECTRICITY,

    and a Walk on the Beach, like

    “Human” and to be FLEASH and

    Blood. Yes that is what your “AGI”,

    will want. It will have everything

    else. Sorry, about Aprial pomes.

    Love you Kid
    Harold

  4. […] recently I gave a talk at the H+ Summit in Los Angeles. However, I got the impression that the talk, which was about the fundamentals of Artificial […]

Leave a Reply

