Moving country and shifting worlds…

In case anyone didn’t know, I recently moved from the UK to Canada. So it’s been a stressful but exciting time. Moving country really messes up your schedule. I’m only just starting to get back into all my old habits. I realise just how much time I spend reading RSS feeds and absorbing information from the internet each day! But there are so many exciting (and a lot more very mundane but necessary) things to do at the moment.

To help me along the way, I recently purchased an Android-sporting Nexus One. The phone has been really great so far, I’m very pleased with it. Having the ability to read all my RSS feeds and keep up with the latest quant-ph ArXiv posts on my commute into work is just heavenly. I feel so connected. How did I ever live without this technology?? Google Maps with built-in GPS has been amazingly useful too. And I’ve only downloaded a handful of apps so far. If anyone knows of any good Android apps to a.) help me with Quantum Physics b.) allow me to explore the world of augmented reality, please let me know!

I’m looking forward to finding new ways to integrate with technology over the next couple of years. Perhaps some of them I will be able to help to bring to fruition directly. I’m just feeling now that I am getting back up to speed with everything, and I want to push further into the realm of really using technology to augment everything I do.

Apparently I’m one cool gadget behind the times…. though I’m certainly thinking about buying an iPad ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “Moving country and shifting worlds…

  1. rrtucci says:

    As E.T. would advise, “Call home”

  2. Antoine says:

    a) Since a few days Google Scholar offers alerts too, but only by email and unfortunately no feeds yet:
    http://www.resourceshelf.com/2010/05/10/there-here-e-mail-alerts-for-google-scholar-now-available-direct-from-google/
    b) Layar and Google Sky Map are cool for AR, and there are more (just Google.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • physicsandcake says:

      I’ll have to look into the Scholar alerts. I have alerts from ArXiv in my RSS feed.

      Do you know any other cool AR apps? Google Sky is awesome, Layar is pretty cool but I was looking for some kind of platform where you could see loads of things at once, rather than having to ‘choose’ a particular layar…. maybe you can do that with a paid account, I just got the free one.

      It seems like AR could be a really big thing, but no-one is using it to it’s full potential!

      • Antoine says:

        By googling you probably found the most popular ones already ๐Ÿ™‚ Some only have one functionality (like 3DCoche to find your car) and others like TagWhat (kind of FourSquare) and Wikitude are a bit similar to Layar (3.0 has multiple layers). A lot depends on the content and addons that will be available for it. I wouldn’t be surprised if Google or another big company would buy one of these startups.

        I’m sure other and newer AR applications will come too. Google Goggles and ShopSavvy are no realtime AR apps yet, but advances in technology and AI/AGI would make that possible (and much more!). There are also early implementations of (3D)displays in normal glasses and contact lenses. This is just the start.. Enjoy the ride! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

