QIP 2010 – Day 2, erm I mean 3

I’ve been so busy at this conference, I haven’t had much time to write stuff down. So yes, I totally suck at liveblogging 🙂

On Tuesday the sessions seemed a lot more attuned to the underground QIP physics community. You wouldn’t know we existed by just looking, but we’ve been able to signal our presence to each other by arranging the croissants into Ising configurations.

Anyway, I very much enjoyed the talks by Hari Krovi and Phillipe Corboz. Hari talked about the failure of the Adiabatic algorithm for certain problem instances. This is a very open question and sparked much discussion. My take on this is that most real world problems do not seem to fall into this category, they tend to be somewhat easier. Concentrating on the very hardest instances is useful from a theoretical point of view but not really from a real world applications one.

Kristan Temme’s talk about quantum metropolis sampling was also very interesting. I find myself trying to relate every talk I hear to the adiabatic algorithm. It’s pretty tricky as most of the topics first assume a Universal gate model Quantum Computer, with an extreme amount of error correction. But as I’m interested in actually building Quantum Computers, and I believe that AQC is the best way to achieve this currently, I’m looking for ways to manipulate all these results into a more limited, but realizable framework.

I’m also even posting *this* a day late because just as I was about to make the entry public my internet allocation ran out….

4 thoughts on “QIP 2010 – Day 2, erm I mean 3

  1. Dave Bacon says:

    Of course, now-a-days, no one should be using the pulsed gate circuit model to build a quantum computer, they should be doing adiabatic gate teleportation and it’s variants. Okay, well I guess I might be biased.

  2. Geordie says:

    You’re biased but you’re also correct.

    — A completely unbiased observer

  3. 8-0-8 says:

    *totally lost in the jargon of quantum mechanics* ^^’

  4. Mike says:

    “Blah… blah… blah… Hamiltonian. Blah… blah… blah… Complete!”

    🙂

Leave a Reply

