Distress by Greg Egan

p_mini6194 I’m currently reading Distress by Greg Egan. The story is set at a Physics conference, so I’m actually really enjoying it (although I think overall I preferred Permutation City). It is however most unlike any Physics conference I’ve ever attended. With murder, mystery, intrigue, fanatical religious cults, shadowy biotech corporations, kidnapping, deadly bioweapons and potentially the end of the multiverse as we know it, maybe I should be frequenting TOE conferences instead of LT ones 🙂

However there are some descriptions which aren’t so far fetched, such as the conference venue being a picturesque tropical coral-reef island. That one does happen occasionally.

Leave a Reply

